[RT4-Client] Noob looking for resources for client development

Various development-related discussions
bunger
Noob

[RT4-Client] Noob looking for resources for client development

Post by bunger »

Hi all, I've got some experience in Rust, Lua, and Python. When it comes to Java/RS development, though, I'm a noob. My goal for now is to make a client plugin that enables hotkeys for dialogue navigation (1-4, spacebar)

While the server documentation is fairly thorough and very easy to find, I unfortunately I haven't been able to find much info on the RT4-Client. Based on some of the existing plugins in the repo, I was able to figure out how to get keyboard input from the player, but I'm a bit lost on what to do from here. I've dug through some of the source code (probably not enough, still digging) but so far I'm striking out.

If anyone has advice, tips, a point in the right direction, etc. that would be great! Thanks!
Ceikry
Site Admin

Re: [RT4-Client] Noob looking for resources for client development

Post by Ceikry »

You'll also need to check for the presence of the corresponding chatbox interfaces, and only when present convert that keypress to a component click packet that informs the server you pressed a button on an interface.
Nerds
Ceikry
Site Admin

Post by Ceikry »

That said, I've never been a huge fan of this feature request in particular because dialogue is excruciatingly tedious and time consuming to implement, so it feels very ungrateful when people want to just spam through the dialogue.
Nerds
bunger
Noob

Post by bunger »

Yeah I can understand not wanting to give people an avenue to easily skip all dialogue.

In my eyes, this game is almost entirely clicking. The primary reason I want this feature is to reduce the amount of mousing and clicking necessary. There's quite a lot of dialogue, and navigation maps to the keyboard pretty nicely.