Page 1 of 2

Saradomin launcher resetting my java option

Posted: Sun Oct 01, 2023 12:34 am
by DarkMagician
When I select my java (eclipse adoptium 11 jdk javaw) and press play it says updating... downloading java11 instead and doesnt use the the eclipse adoptium version

Re: Saradomin launcher resetting my java option

Posted: Sun Oct 01, 2023 7:27 am
by Red Bracket
It downloads and sets Java 11 as your Java version if it detects you're not on Java 11 already. Here's the code for the detection:

Code: Select all

string javaVersionOutput = CrossPlatform.RunCommandAndGetOutput(
  $"{_settingsService.Launcher.JavaExecutableLocation} -version"
);
return javaVersionOutput.Contains("11");
Can you show me the output if you open a terminal and run (your Java path) -version?

Re: Saradomin launcher resetting my java option

Posted: Sun Oct 01, 2023 7:43 am
by DarkMagician
Sorry i'm a noob. How do I do that?

Re: Saradomin launcher resetting my java option

Posted: Sun Oct 01, 2023 7:52 am
by Red Bracket
On Windows, go to the Folder where you have Java downloaded and open a command prompt, then type

Code: Select all

java -version
On Linux, do the same thing, or type

Code: Select all

which java
then take the output and append

Code: Select all

-version
I've got a Windows virtual machine and I'm trying to test the issue myself. Can you tell me where you downloaded "eclipse adoptium 11 jdk" from? If it's https://adoptium.net/temurin/releases/? ... =openjdk11, that's actually the same one the launcher downloads :shock:

Re: Saradomin launcher resetting my java option

Posted: Sun Oct 01, 2023 7:57 am
by DarkMagician

Re: Saradomin launcher resetting my java option

Posted: Sun Oct 01, 2023 7:59 am
by Red Bracket
Looks like you're right, this is a bug in the launcher. Investigating now

Re: Saradomin launcher resetting my java option

Posted: Sun Oct 01, 2023 8:00 am
by DarkMagician
https://streamable.com/u94qkx

I don't have recording software but this should do

Re: Saradomin launcher resetting my java option

Posted: Sun Oct 01, 2023 8:24 am
by Red Bracket
From your video, I can see there's a space in the path, which seems to be causing an issue. I've fixed it in this MR.

Can you test this launcher? https://gitlab.com/2009scape/Saradomin- ... equests/45

Image

You want "pack_windows_sc". If it works, I'll merge the code

Re: Saradomin launcher resetting my java option

Posted: Sun Oct 01, 2023 8:31 am
by DarkMagician
Red Bracket wrote: Sun Oct 01, 2023 8:24 am From your video, I can see there's a space in the path, which seems to be causing an issue. I've fixed it in this MR.

Can you test this launcher? https://gitlab.com/2009scape/Saradomin- ... equests/45

Image

You want "pack_windows_sc". If it works, I'll merge the code
fixed! awesome

Re: Saradomin launcher resetting my java option

Posted: Sun Oct 01, 2023 2:50 pm
by ryannathans
not spaces again :oops: